Skip to content
CA Unified Infrastructure Management - 8.5.1
Documentation powered by DocOps

Delete Devices in USM

Last update April 25, 2018

You can delete devices through the USM Inventory node. The process gives you the ability to remove the device from inventory and prevent rediscovery, close alarms associated with the device, and disable access to stored QoS data for the device. You need access to the Discovery Management ACL to delete a device from the inventory.

Note: You can still delete devices through the discovery server probe utility. However, the following method is the preferred method to delete devices.

Note: Deleting a device from USM and rediscovery does not stop probes from monitoring the device. Probes monitoring the device will continue to collect QoS metrics and generate alarms. The best practice is to first configure probes to stop monitoring or discovering the devices that will be deleted and then delete the devices.

Steps for probe configuration varies by probe and is beyond the scope of this topic. For information on probe configuration, see CA UIM probes documentation.

Follow these steps:

  1. In the USM tree view, expand the Inventory node and select a group of devices.
  2. In the device table, scroll through the list and select devices by clicking corresponding boxes in the first column. Click the column header for the boxes to sort the list by selected devices.
    You can also filter the device list in the Quick filter box above the table at any time. Filtering automatically deselects any device that is not part of the filtered list. You can select all devices in the displayed list by pulling down the Actions menu at the upper right-hand corner of the table and selecting the Select All option or deselect devices with the Clear Selected option.
  3. Pull down the Actions menu at the upper right-hand corner of the table and select the Delete Selected option. This option is active only if a device is selected.
    A dialog box appears with deletion options related to devices, alarms, and data:
    • Prevent rediscovery - Excludes the device instances from being added back into USM.

      Note: If you do not select the Prevent rediscovery option, the device will be deleted from USM, but the device may be added back later if it is still being discovered or monitored by a probe. If you do not use the option and don’t want the device to be added back, you must configure probes to stop monitoring or discovering the devices to prevent rediscovery. Note that device deletion does not delete devices that are associated with a robot.

    • Acknowledge alarms - Closes all open alarms.

      Note: Closed alarms are moved to the historic alarms table, and historic alarms are aged out of the table according to configured retention policies. Subsequent alarms for devices will still be displayed in the global alarm view and must be closed manually. Historic alarms can also be viewed in the global alarm view until they are aged out. To prevent alarms for devices from being generated by probes, you must disable probe monitoring for the devices.

    • Delete measurements - Deletes references to the device QoS data. To prevent QoS references from being reentered, you must disable probe monitoring for the device.

      Note: Removing the reference to QoS data does not delete the existing data in data tables. Existing data records must be deleted manually or allowed to age out according to data_engine settings.

  4. Deselect unwanted options in the dialog box.
  5. Click OK.

Allow Rediscovery of Deleted Devices

You can allow rediscovery of all or selected deleted devices previously removed through the Prevent Rediscovery option in removing devices. To return metrics and alarms for these devices, enable probes that monitor these devices.

To allow rediscovery of all devices, use the command in the Discovery Server probe utility.

Follow these steps:

  1. Invoke the probe utility for the Discovery Server.
    1. In Admin Console, click the pull-down menu for the discovery_server probe and select View Probe Utility in New Window from the list.
    2. In Infrastructure Manager, select the discovery_server probe and press Ctrl + p.  
  2. Select clear_all_prevented_devices from the command list or commandset pull-down menu at the left.
  3. Click the green Execute button () to send the command request.

You can also allow for rediscovery of individual devices. There is no equivalent Probe Utility command for this operation.

A list of excluded devices is stored in the file Nimsoft\probes\services\discovery_server\excluded_devices.csv for access by the Discovery Server. You must delete individual devices from the excluded_devices.csv file and then restart the discovery_server probe to rediscover them.

Note: The excluded_devices.csv file may be removed from future versions of CA UIM and replaced with a different method for storing excluded devices. Do not create any automated processes that require this file.

Follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the excluded device list in Nimsoft\probes\discovery_server\excluded_devices.csv.
  2. Delete the entries for individual devices.
  3. Save the file.
  4. Open Infrastructure Manager or Admin Console and navigate to the probes list.
  5. Deactivate the discovery_server probe.
  6. Activate the discovery_server probe.

After completing the steps to allow rediscovery of all or selected deleted devices, the previously excluded devices are added back to USM when they are rediscovered. If the probes are still configured to discover or monitor the devices, they will eventually reappear in the USM Inventory and any dynamic groups where they previously existed. You can speed this process by forcing the probes to rediscover the devices. Probes have varying ways to force rediscovery: for the discovery agent, you can select Run discovery now in the Schedule tab of the Discovery Wizard.  For other probes, restarting the probe typically will initiate republishing them to inventory.

Was this helpful?

Please log in to post comments.

  1. Michael Koprowski
    2018-04-23 11:41

    This article is missing what ACL controls the option for allowing a user to delete a device from inventory.

    1. Gupta, Vishal
      2018-04-24 12:31

      Thanks, Michael!

      We will look into this issue.

      - Documentation Team

    1. Gupta, Vishal
      2018-04-25 07:12

      Per discussion with the development team, "Discovery Management" ACL is required to delete a device from the inventory. Added this line to the page.

      Thanks.